The 22 Worst Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Snubs

Be prepared for plenty of scoffing, maybe some eyerolls, and endless frustration

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Snubs
Illustration by Allison Aubrey

    This article originally ran in 2013 and has been updated. As of 2021, Kraftwerk and Tina Turner have finally graduated from our list of worst snubs, while Daft Punk and others now qualify.

    The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has revealed the inductees for its class of 2021. They include JAY-ZFoo Fighters, The Go-Go’sCarole King, Tina TurnerTodd Rundgren, Kraftwerk and LL Cool J.

    Sadly, nominees Rage Against the Machine, Kate Bush, Chaka Khan, DEVO, Iron Maiden, New York Dolls, Dionne Warwick, Fela Kuti and Mary J. Blige will have to wait another year for possible induction.


    Those left out, however, aren’t exactly in poor company. Many great artists have been shut out from the warm confines of the Cleveland institution.

    Here’s a list of 22 artists who have yet to be enshrined, accompanied with rankings and our semi-formal arguments for their inclusion.

    As this list proves, however, things do change.

Around The Web