Nick Cave and Warren Ellis have announced their soundtrack to the upcoming documentary La Panthère des Neiges. It arrives in the USA on December 22nd, and as a preview, the longtime collaboraters have shared the single “We Are Not Alone” in a unique edit that does not appear in the film.

La Panthère des Neiges is directed by Marie Amiguet and Vincent Munier, and finds the latter traveling with novelist Sylvain Tesson to the Tibetan plateau, one of the most undisturbed wildlife sanctuaries in the world.

“There is something about the heart of this film that draws you in,” Ellis said in a statement. “I realized after a day, that I wanted to do whatever it took to compose an entire original score. The film deserved to have its own musical voice. I booked five days and asked Nick if he could come in for a day to write a theme song and play some piano. He saw the film and stayed for four days. In the end we made what I think is one of the most beautiful films we have ever worked on. One of my favourite experiences ever working on a project. The stars are the animals in all their wild glory, as we have never seen them before, and man in reverence and wonder.”


The song opens with a bird call that intermingles with gentle acoustic guitar. “This world has ears and rocks have eyes,” Cave sings, “Nature loves to hide/ The world is a bush full of fiery eyes/ Nature loves to hide.” Check out “We Are Not Alone” below, and scroll onward for the soundtrack tracklist.

Earlier this year, the pair released their new album Carnageand next year they’ll embark on a 2022 North American tour. Tickets are available here.

In September, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds unveiled “Earthlings,” and in October they shared B-Sides & Rarities Part IICave is busy working on a memoir, and he plays play H.G. Wells in Benedict Cumberbatch’s new film The Electrical Life of Louis Wain.



La Panthère des Neiges Artwork:

nick cave warren ellis we are not alone documentary film Les Panthère Des Neiges

La Panthère des Neiges Tracklist:
01. L’attaque de Loups
02. Les Cerfs
03. Antilope
04. La Bête
05. Les Yaks
06. Des Affûts Elliptiques
07. Les Nomades
08. La Grotte
09. Les Princes
10. La Neige Tombe
11. Les Ours
12. Un Être Vous Obsède
13. L’apparition: We Are Not Alone