The Weeknd’s New Album Dawn FM Arriving This Week

The After Hours follow-up features Tyler, the Creator, Lil Wayne, and... Jim Carrey

The Weeknd Dawn FM
The Weeknd, photo via YouTube

    The Weeknd will deliver 2022’s first major album release when he drops Dawn FM this Friday (January 7th).

    According to a newly revealed trailer, Dawn FM features contributions from Tyler, the Creator, Lil Wayne, Oneohtrix Point Never, and music legend Quincy Jones. Also appearing on the album is actor/comedian Jim Carrey, who struck up a friendship with The Weeknd over the pandemic. Watch the trailer below.

    The album’s striking artwork, also seen below, depicts an elderly version of Abel Tesfaye.

    “Music can heal and that feels more important than another album rollout. Let’s just drop the whole thing and enjoy it with the people,” The Weeknd wrote in a note teasing the album’s imminent release last week.


    Update: Jim Carrey praised Dawn FM in a Tweet, writing, “I listened to Dawn FM with my good friend Abel @theweeknd last night. It was deep and elegant and it danced me around the room. I’m thrilled to play a part in his symphony.”

    Dawn FM serves as the follow-up to The Weeknd’s massive album, After Hours. Since its release in March 2020, After Hours has gone double platinum and spawned three No 1. singles: “Blinding Lights (our Top Song of 2020), “Heartless,” and “Save Your Tears.”

    In a recent interview with GQ, The Weeknd described the forthcoming release as “the album I’ve always wanted to make.” GQ writer Mark Anthony Green further described The Weeknd’s new music as “packed with party records. Like real-deal, illuminated-white-tiles-on-the-floor party records. Quincy Jones meets Giorgio Moroder meets the best-night-of-your-fucking-life party records. Not anachronistic disco stuff. (Not ‘cosplay,’ as Abel put it.) That sort of retro thing is having a moment right now in pop music, but these records are new. Sweaty. Hard. Drenched-suit, grinding-on-the-girl/boy-of-your-dreams party records.”


    Last August, The Weeknd previewed Dawn FM with the release of a single called “Take My Breath Away.” Since then, he’s appeared on tracks with Swedish House Mafia (“Moth to Flame”), Post Malone (“One Right Now”), Rosalía (“La Fama”), and FKA twigs (“Tears in the Club”), as well as the posthumous Aaliyah release (“Poison”).

    Dawn FM Tracklist:
    01. Dawn FM
    02. Gasoline
    03. How Do I Make You Love Me?
    04. Take My Breath
    05. Sacrifice
    06. A Tale By Quincy
    07. Out Of Time
    08. Here We Go… Again
    09. Best Friends
    10. Is There Someone Else?
    11. Starry Eyes
    12. Every Angel Is Terrifying
    13. Don’t Break My Heart
    14. I Heard You’re Married
    15. Less Than Zero
    16. Phantom Regret By Jim