Killing Joke have announced the Lord of Chaos EP and shared the title track — the band’s first new song in seven years.

The four-song release arrives March 25th and follows the influential UK band’s most recent album, 2015’s Pylon. In the interim, Killing Joke have remained active on the touring circuit, notably supporting Tool’s 2019 North American tour.

“Lord of Chaos” picks up where Pylon left off with a heavy industrial-rock sound. Frontman Jaz Coleman’s iconic, haunting vocals are front and center, backed by saturated slabs of guitar and bass. The song’s lyric video puts images to Coleman’s stark lyrics: “All things must pass, oceans bereft of life / A fungal bloom allows no light, the depths no longer rise.”

“I’ve never known anything like the time we are living in now; not since the Cuban Missile crisis but now in comparison we have multiple flash points,” Coleman remarked in a press release. “Lord of Chaos is about complex systems failure, when technology overloads and A.I. misreads the enemies’ intentions.”


The EP includes one other new song, “Total,” and two remixes of Pylon tracks [“Big Buzz (Motorcade Mix)”; “Delete In Dub (Youth’s Disco 45 Dystopian Dub)”]. The new songs were produced by Killing Joke and mixed by Tom Dalgety.

The press release also teased the band’s forthcoming full-length album: “[The songs] set the tone for the band’s next studio album, currently being worked on in Prague.”

The Lord of Chaos EP is set to be released on vinyl, CD, and digital. You can pre-order the latter format here.

Watch the lyric video for “Lord of Chaos” below and see the EP art and tracklist below.

Lord of Chaos EP Artwork:

Lord of Chaos EP Tracklist:
01. Lord of Chaos
02. Total
03. Big Buzz (Motorcade Mix)
04. Delete in Dub (Youth’s Disco 45 Dystopian Dub)