Tame Impala have released the new deluxe box set The Slow Rush B-Sides & Rarities, an update to their 2020 temporal exploration The Slow RushIt includes the new song “The Boat I Row,” which you can stream alone or as part of the album below.

“The Boat I Row” opens with choir-like synths lapping gently at the eardrum. These swelling chords drop away to leave Kevin Parker almost alone as he sings: “Endless/ Problems, relentless/ I know I’m oblivious/ Bit overzealous/ And possibly jealous/ I run ’til I’m breathless/ Try to suppress it/ I couldn’t bear it, so onward I go.”

B-Sides & Rarities also includes the recent single “No Choices,” as well as “Patience,” a 2019 loosie. Remixes have been provided by Lil Yachty, Blood Orange, Four Tet, and Maurice Fulton. The deluxe box set is available digitally or on two transparent red LPs, and the physical edition also comes with alternate artwork, a 40-page booklet, and The Slow Rush 2050 calendar. Orders are ongoing.


Next month Tame Impala will embark on a 2022 North American tour. It includes stops at Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival, Hangout Music Festival, and BUKU Music & Art Project. Get your tickets here.

Meanwhile, in a new interview with the Sydney Morning Herald, Parker said Tame Impala’s next album will be “done sooner than what has been the pattern for me.” He added, “Tame Impala is always in my mind, always there, so I wanna do one soon.”

The Slow Rush Deluxe Box Set Artwork:the slow rush deluxe box set artwork the boat i row

The Slow Rush Deluxe Box Set Tracklist:

The Slow Rush LP 1: Side A
01. One More Year
02. Instant Destiny
03. Borderline

Side B
01. Posthumous Forgiveness
02. Breathe Deeper
03. Tomorrow’s Dust

LP 2: Side C
01. On Track
02. Lost in Yesterday
03. Is It True

Side D
01. It Might Be Time
02. Glimmer
03. One More Hour

Remixes 12” #1
A. One More Year (NTS Extended Version)
B1. Patience (Maurice Fulton Remix)
B2. Patience (Original)

Remixes 12” #2
A. Is It True (Four Tet Remix)
B1. Breathe Deeper (Lil Yachty Remix)
B2. Borderline (Blood Orange Remix)

A: The Boat I Row
B: No Choices