Willie Nelson has announced a new album titled A Beautiful Time, out April 29th through Legacy Recordings — the exact date of his 89th birthday. As a preview, he’s shared the new single, “I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die.”

Five of the 14 songs on A Beautiful Time were written by Nelson with his longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon, but “I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die” was penned by Chris Stapleton and Rodney Crowell. The album also includes covers of The Beatles’ “With a Little Help from My Friends” from 1967’s Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and Leonard Cohen’s “Tower of Song.”

“I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die” is a harmonica-driven song featuring lovelorn lyrics inspired a single encounter. “You probably don’t remember me,” he sings. “But I thought I’d let you know/ That one short conversation/ Is still the reason why/ I’ll love you till the day I die.” Stream the official lyric video below.


Last month, a new Chia Pet featuring Nelson’s visage went on sale. The Red-Headed Stranger’s most recent albums include the collaborative The Willie Nelson Family and a collection of Frank Sinatra covers called That’s Life, both of which were released last year.

Nelson is currently set to return to the road next month. Snag your tickets here.

A Beautiful Time Artwork:

willie nelson A Beautiful Time new album artwork

A Beautiful Time Tracklist:
01. I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die
02. My Heart Was a Dancer
03. Energy Follows Thought
04. Dreamin’ Again
05. I Don’t Go to Funerals
06. A Beautiful Time
07. We’re Not Happy (Till You’re Not Happy)
08. Dusty Bottles
09. Me and My Partner
10. Tower of Song
11. Live Every Day
12. Don’t Touch Me There
13. With a Little Help from My Friends
14. Leave You with a Smile