KISS Announce Creatures of the Night 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition

Stream the previously unreleased outtake "Betrayed" now

kiss creatures of the night deluxe edition
Creatures of the Night Super Deluxe Edition, via

    KISS have announced a 40th anniversary reissue of their classic 1982 album Creatures of the Night, including a massive super deluxe edition box set.

    The band is re-releasing the album in a slew of various formats arriving November 18th: 5-CD/Blu-ray Super Deluxe Edition; 3-LP Deluxe; 2-CD Deluxe; single LP half-speed mastered 180-gram vinyl; single remastered CD; and a digital download of the 5-CD Super Deluxe Edition.

    The super deluxe edition boasts 103 total tracks with 75 being previously unreleased — including the studio outtake “Betrayed” that is available to stream now. The first disc houses the original remastered album; discs 2 and 3 include 34 demos, rarities, and outtakes from the Creatures of the Night sessions; and discs 4 and 5 collect 26 soundboard live recordings from the “Creatures ’82/’83 Tour” and seven tour “sound effects,” all recorded and archived by tour sound engineer Harry Witz. Meanwhile, the included Blu-ray audio disc houses the first-ever Atmos and 5.1 surround mix of the original album multi-tracks as well as a high-res remastered stereo mix of the original album.


    Additionally, the super deluxe box set includes an extensive array of KISS memorabilia and ephemera, including: an 80-page hardcover book with liner notes by Ken Sharpa; a Creatures of the Night 1982 press kit; multiple posters; replica programs, tickets, and a backstage pass; a plethora of stickers; trading cards; illustrations; an iron-on patch and T-shirt transfer; guitar picks; buttons; and photos.

    Creatures of the Night is considered one of the strongest post-1980 KISS albums and came at a time of transition for the band. With Ace Frehley and Peter Criss out of the picture, drummer Eric Carr and a host of guitarists — including soon-to-be fixture Vinnie Vincent — filled in admirably. Two of the album’s tracks, “Rock and Roll Hell” and “War Machine,” were even co-written with pop rocker Bryan Adams.

    Pre-order the reissue in its various configurations via KISS’ online store. Below you can see the full tracklist for the 5-CD edition and stream the outtake “Betrayed.”


    Creatures of the Night Super Deluxe Edition:

    kiss creatures of the night box set

    Creatures of the Night Super Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
    Disc 1: Original Album Remastered
    01. Creatures Of The Night
    02. Saint And Sinner
    03. Keep Me Comin’
    04. Rock And Roll Hell
    05. Danger
    06. I Love It Loud
    07. I Still Love You
    08. Killer
    09. War Machine

    Disc 2: Demos, Rarities & Outtakes
    01. I’m A Legend Tonight
    02. Down On Your Knees
    03. Nowhere To Run
    04. Partners In Crime
    05. Deadly Weapon (Penny Lane Demo)*
    06. Feel Like Heaven (Penny Lane Demo)*
    07. Nowhere To Run (Penny Lane Demo)*
    08. Deadly Weapon (Original Demo)*
    09. Feel Like Heaven (Original Demo)*
    10. Nowhere To Run (Take 11 – Instrumental)*
    11. Tell It To A Fool (Take 4 – Drums & Bass Instrumental)*
    12. Chrome Goes Into Motion (Take 2 – Drums & Bass Instrumental)*
    13. I’m A Legend Tonight (Mix 4 – Instrumental & Background Vocals)*
    14. Don’t Leave Me Lonely (Take 8 – Drums & Guitar Instrumental)*
    15. Something Seems To Happen At Night (Gene Simmons Demo)
    16. It’s Gonna Be Alright (Gene Simmons Demo)

    Disc 3: Demos, Rarities & Outtakes
    01. Legends Never Die (Gene Simmons Demo)
    02. It’s My Life (Gene Simmons Demo)
    03. Not For The Innocent (Demo)*
    04. I Still Love You (Take 1)*
    05. I Still Love You (Take 2)*
    06. Saint And Sinner (Take 1)*
    07. Saint And Sinner (Take 2 – False Start)*
    08. Saint And Sinner (Take 3)*
    09. Betrayed (Outtake)*
    10. Creatures Of The Night (Alternate Mix 19)*
    11. Partners In Crime (Alternate Mix 16b)*
    12. I Love It Loud (Alternate Mix 21)*
    13. War Machine (Full-Length Version – Mix 11)*
    14. Rock And Roll Hell (Take 2 – 9/10/1982)*
    15. Rock And Roll Hell (Take 1 – Incomplete – 9/15/1982)*
    16. Rock And Roll Hell (Take 2 – 9/15/1982)*
    17. I Love It Loud (Single Edit)
    18. Creatures Of The Night (1985 Remix)


    Disc 4: Creatures Tour Live ‘82/’83 – Part One
    01. Creatures Of The Night (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    02. Strutter (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    03. Calling Dr. Love (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    04. Firehouse (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    05. I Love It Loud (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    06. Cold Gin (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    07. Keep Me Comin’ (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    08. War Machine (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    09. I Want You (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    10. Rock And Roll Hell (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    11. I Still Love You (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    12. Shout It Out Loud (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    13. Gene’s Bass Solo (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    14. God Of Thunder / Eric’s Drum Solo / God Of Thunder (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*

    Disc 5: Creatures Tour Live ‘82/’83 – Part Two
    01. Paul’s Love Gun Rap (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    02. Love Gun (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    03. Paul’s Guitar Solo (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    04. Black Diamond (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    05. Detroit Rock City (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    06. Rock And Roll All Nite (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    07. Rock And Roll Hell (Sioux City, Iowa – 12/30/1982)*
    08. I Want You (Rockford, Illinois – 12/31/1982)*
    09. King Of The Night Time World (Pine Bluff, Arkansas – 2/11/1983)*
    10. Cold Gin (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    11. I Still Love You (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    12. Strutter (Houston, Texas – 3/10/1983)*
    13. Tank Start Of Show*
    14. Turbine*
    15. Firehouse Siren*
    16. Drum And Ending Tank*
    17. Bass Solo Wind And Gargoyles*
    18. Bells*
    19. Flames*

    * = previously unreleased