After returning with a pair of singles earlier this year, The Big Pink have announced their new album, The Love That’s Ours. Due out on September 30th via Project Melody Music, it will mark the indie rock band’s first new album in a decade.

The Love That’s Ours was produced by Tony Hoffer — whose credits include Beck, Air, and Phoenix — and features The Big Pink’s current lineup of frontman Robbie Furze, drummer Akiko Matsuura, and the new addition of bass guitarist Charlie Barker. The band collaborated with the likes of Jamie T, The Kills’ Jamie Hince, Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner, Ryn Weaver, Mary Charteris, Ed Harcourt, and more on the record.

“Getting to this point has been one of the craziest journeys in my life. I truly thought this day would never come,” said Furze in a statement. “I got so lost, so confused, went down so many rabbit holes, at times running completely blind, so much so that I nearly lost everything that was ever important to me, everything I ever truly loved. This record symbolises so much, it’s my flag on top of the summit. It shows that I finally understand what is truly important.”


He continued, “This is the soundtrack of my journey to get here. It was frightening, but beautiful at the same time, full of fun, but hand-in-hand full of terror and sadness. The outcome is that I’m incredibly proud of this work that came out of all of it. I think these may be the best songs that I’ve ever written, they’re certainly the most honest.”

Pre-orders are ongoing. See the artwork and tracklist below.

Co-written with Weaver, “Rage” is filled with dreamy melodies and quietly defiant lyrics like, “And as the time goes by/ We’ll consolidate those old lies/ Time will always be on our side/ Even when the last love dies.” Watch the music video, directed by Irmak Altiner, below.

“We spoke at length about where we were in our lives and how confusing the world was,” Furze remembered about the writing session for the track. “We were both struggling in love and life at the time and we thought let’s RAGE against these feelings, let’s take the power back. It’s really a ‘fuck you!’ track. It’s one of my favourites on the record.”


“Rage” follows The Big Pink’s comeback single “No Angels” and “Love Spins on Its Axis,” the latter of which the band shared in June. The group’s last project was the 2015 EP Empire Underground, which marked their first release since the departure of founding member Milo Cordell in 2013. The Big Pink’s last full-length, Future This, arrived in 2012.

The Love That’s Ours Artwork:

big pink love thats ours artwork new album rage song video

The Love That’s Ours Tracklist:
01. How Far
02. No Angels
03. Love Spins
04. Rage
05. Outside In
06. I’m not away to say away
07. Safe and Sound
08. Murder
09. Back to My Arms
10. Even If I Wanted To
11. Lucky One